English Graduate Union

About the EGU

The English Graduate Union (EGU) is an organization that represents all English graduate students at the University of Arizona. Founded in 1991, EGU monitors graduate student workload, advocates for graduate student concerns and issues on many departmental and administrative levels, and mobilizes graduate students across the campus around important issues like health care, tuition remission, workload reduction, and childcare.

Membership in EGU is open to all students enrolled in English department graduate programs. Meetings are held every other Friday at 1 pm in the Department of English Instructor Offices room 3b (the Pink Hotel located at 1515 E First Street). 

For more information, or if you have questions, please contact the current EGU Co-Chairs, Stefan Vogel and Kathleen Kryger, at egucochairs@gmail.com.

Fall 2019 Schedule

Our fall 2019 meetings will be:

  • 8/30
  • 9/13
  • 9/27
  • 10/11
  • 10/25
  • 11/8
  • 11/22
  • 12/6

EGU meetings are being held at 1515 from 4-5 p.m.

EGU Officers - AY 2019-2020

Co-Chairs: Stefan Vogel (SLAT) and Kathleen Kryger (RCTE) / egucochairs@gmail.com

Secretary: Breyant Marshall / btmarshall@email.arizona.edu

Program Reps:

First Year Rep: Martin Cardenas (RCTE) / mjcardenas@email.arizona.edu

WriPACA Reps: Nina Conrad (SLAT) / ninac@email.arizona.edu, Marisa Pesa (RCTE) / mpesa@email.arizona.edu, & Jason Knowles (RCTE) /  jasonknowles@email.arizona.edu 

Graduate and Professional Student Council Rep: Dwight Matthews (EAL) / dmatthews@email.arizona.edu

Undergrad English Curriculum Committee Rep: Sally Benson (RCTE) / sfbenson@email.arizona.edu

Graduate Literature Curriculum Committee Rep: Dalia Ebeid (EAL) / debeid@email.arizona.edu

EGU EDI Co-Chairs: Elizabeth Studstill (EAL) / estudstill1@email.arizona.edu & Ashley Batchelor (EAL) / abatchelor@email.arizona.edu

EGU Social Chair: Catherine Fakler (LIT) / cfakler@email.arizona.edu

Current Initiatives

  • Collaborate with department and college administrators to make teaching loads comparable to peer institutions

  • Mediate issues related to graduate student labor and compensation

  • Ensure graduate students are safe from sexual discrimination and harassment

  • Mobilize with other student organizations across campus to advocate for university-wide issues such as childcare, healthcare, education costs, and graduate student wages

  • Ensure graduate student representation on all English program and departmental committees

  •  Foster collegial relationships amongst lecturers and graduate students across all English programs