Poetry Awards

The English Department, in collaboration with the Poetry Center, confers several prizes to University of Arizona undergraduates for poetry. Selected by the poetry faculty, the Margaret Sterling Award and the Hattie Lockett Awards are given for artistic merit and judged as blind submissions. 

2021 winners

Spring: Hattie Lockett Awards: Emily Allerton, Denise Dudoit, and Paola Valenzuela Margaret Sterling Award: Misha Tentser
Fall: Hattie Lockett Awards: Kris Kennon, Zoey Plytas, and Kris Kennon Margaret Sterling Award: Courtney Armstrong

2020 winners

Hattie Lockett Awards:  Mikayla Kaber, Mackenzie Parker, and Kevin Sanchez
Margaret Sterling Award:  Arielle Devorah