Literature Faculty

Aiken, Susan Hardy (PhD, Duke U, 1971).
sha@email.arizona.edu
University Distinguished Professor. Acting Department Head, 2005-06.

Berry, Laura (PhD, U of California at Berkeley, 1992).
berry@email.arizona.edu
Associate Professor. Associate Dean of Honors College.
Nineteenth-century British literature, the English novel.

Brown, Meg Lota (Ph.D., U of California at Berkeley, 1987).
mlbrown@email.arizona.edu
Professor. 
Sixteenth- and seventeenth-century British literature; Early Modern women; Reformation politics.

Brown, David Sterling (PhD, New York University, 2015)
davidsbrown@email.arizona.edu
Assistant Professor. Shakespeare and early modern English literature, with a specialization in drama.

Cooper Alarcon, Daniel (Ph.D., U of Minnesota, 1992).
dfcooper@email.arizona.edu
Associate Professor. Chicano/Chicana literature; Latino/Latina literature; Mexicanness in English-language literature; cultural studies, especially tourism and travel.

Dahood, Roger (Ph.D., Stanford U, 1970).
rdahood@email.arizona.edu
Professor. Co-editor, Studies in Medieval and Renaissance History. Medieval literature.

Epstein, William (Ph.D., Columbia U, 1972).
wepstein@email.arizona.edu
Professor. Post-Renaissance British literature and the novel, literary theory, biography, professional practice, creative non-fiction.

Evers, Larry (Ph.D., U of Nebraska, 1972).
levers@email.arizona.edu
Professor. American Indian Studies, American literature.

Hogle, Jerrold E. (Ph.D., Harvard U, 1974).
hogle@email.arizona.edu
University Distinguished Professor . Romantic poetry and prose, literary theory and criticism, eighteenth- and nineteenth-century fiction and Gothic.

Hurh, J. Paul (Ph.D. Berkeley, 2008)
jphurh@email.arizona.edu
Assistant Professor.  Colonial and 19th-century American literature

Jenkins, Jennifer (Ph.D., U of Arizona, 1993).
jenkinsj@email.arizona.edu
Associate Professor. American literatures, Film history and theory, Archival Studies, Southwest/Mexico Studies.

Kiefer, Frederick (Ph.D., Harvard U, 1972).
fkiefer@email.arizona.edu
Professor. University Distinguished Professor  Renaissance drama and iconography. Shakespeare.

Lempert, Manya (Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 2015)
mlempert@email.arizona.edu
Assistant Professor. Modernism, Nineteenth-and Twentieth-Century English Novel, literature and philosophy

Leseur, Geta (Ph.D., Indiana University - Bloomington, 1982)
getal@email.arizona.edu
Professor.

Mason, Lauren (Ph.D., Michigan State University, 2011).
lmason@email.arizona.edu
Assistant Professor.  Visual culture, urbanism, and globalism in contemporary representations of the African Diaspora.

Medovoi, Leerom (Ph.D., Stanford University, 1995).
medovoi@email.arizona.edu
Professor. Twentieth-century and Twenty-First-century U.S. literature and culture, globalization, biopolitics, critical race studies, ecocriticism

Melillo, John  (Ph.D., New York University, 2010)
johnmelillo@email.arizona.edu
Assistant Professor.  American and British Modernist, contemporary poetry, music and literature.

Monsman, Gerald (Ph.D., Johns Hopkins U, 1965).
monsman@email.arizona.edu
Professor. Nineteenth-century British literature, Anglo-African literature of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, autobiography,history of myths and ideas.

Nathanson, Tenney  (Ph.D., Columbia U, 1983).
nathanso@email.arizona.edu
Professor
Director of the Graduate Literature Program.  Director of Graduate Studies
American poetry.

Pettey, Homer B.  (PhD, U. of Arizona, 1989).
petteyh@email.arizona.edu
Associate Professor

Raval, Suresh (PhD, U of Washington, 1974).
sraval@email.arizona.edu
Professor.  History and theory of criticism, colonial discourse and postcolonial theory, cultural studies, narrative theory, literary theory, modern British fiction, postcolonial fiction, literature and philosophy.

Scruggs, Charles (PhD, U of Wisconsin, 1965).
scruggs@email.arizona.edu
Professor. Eighteenth-century British and American literature, African-American literature.

Selisker, Scott (PhD, U of Virginia, 2010)
selisker@email.arizona.edu
Visiting Assistant Professor. Twentieth-century U.S. literature, literature and science, science fiction, digital humanities

Sherry, Charles (PhD, Rutgers U, 1972).
csherry@email.arizona.edu
Associate Professor. Comparative literature, European romanticism, literature and philosophy.

Skibsrud, Johanna (Ph.D., University of Montreal, 2012).
jskibsrud@email.arizona.edu
Assistant Professor. Modern poetry, critical theory, fiction.

Ulreich, John (PhD, Harvard U, 1969).
jcu@email.arizona.edu
Professor. My scholarly interests include early modern English Literature, especially John Milton, George Herbert, and Aemilia Lanyer, the Bible, and the teachings of Owen Barfield. Besides traditional scholarly projects on these subjects, I am engaged with some colleagues in producing an inclusive version of the Psalms based on the Psalter in the (Episcopal) Book of Common Prayer.

Washburn, Franci (PhD, University of New Mexico, 2003)
washburn@email.arizona.edu
Assistant Professor of American Indian Studies; Joint Appointment Department of English.  American Indian literature, language, culture 

White, Susan (PhD, Johns Hopkins U, 1987).
swhite@email.arizona.edu
Professor. Film and comparative literature.

Willard, Thomas S. (PhD, U of Toronto, 1978).
willard@email.arizona.edu
Associate Professor. Literary studies.

Zwinger, Lynda (PhD, SUNY at Buffalo, 1984).
lyndaz@email.arizona.edu
Associate Professor. American novel, feminist studies, eighteenth- and nineteenth-century English novel, psychoanalytic theory.

AFFILIATED FACULTY

Carter, Bryan (Assistant Professor, Africana Studies; Affiliate Faculty, Department of English)

Croissant, Jennifer (Associate Professor in Gender and Women's Studies and Materials Science and Engineering)
Sociology and anthropolgy of knowledge, science, and technology; rehabilitation and biomechanical engineering.

Joseph, Miranda (Professor of Gender and  Women's Studies)
Dr. Joseph received her PhD from the Program in Modern Thought and Literature at Stanford in 1995. She is the Director of the Sex, Race and Globalization Project, which offers Rockefeller Humanities Residency Fellowships and an ongoing seminar series. She has been a Rockefeller Fellow at the Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies, CUNY Graduate Center (1997-98) and a Bunting Fellow at Radcliffe College (1999-2000). She is the author of Against the Romance of Community (University of Minnesota Press, 2002), which brings together Marxist and poststructuralist theory to explore the mutually constitutive relationship between community and capitalism. Her work uses the tools of cultural studies -- theory, ethnography, discourse analysis -- to examine social formations and institutions including contemporary gay community, nonprofit organizations, prisons, and academic fields (especially Women's Studies and Cultural Studies). She teaches graduate seminars in feminist theory, queer theory, and Marxist theory as well as introductory level courses in Women's Studies and LGBT.

Soto, Sandra (Associate Professor of Gender and Women's Studies Department)
Sandra K. Soto is assistant professor of Women's Studies, co-coordinator of the Chicana/Latina Studies Concentration, and affiliate faculty of English and Latin American Studies at the University of Arizona. She holds a PhD in English from the University of Texas at Austin (2001). Her interdisciplinary research agenda draws on Chicana/o and Latina/o literary studies, queer theory, and gender studies to offer innovative approaches to the overdetermined terrain of social relations, cultural representation, and knowledge production. She is currently a postdoctoral fellow with the Latino/a Studies Program at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign where she is completing a book manuscript, Queering AztlánSubjectivity, Desire, and the Challenge of Racialized Sexuality in Chicana/o Literature, that replaces the race-based oppositional paradigm of Chicano literary studies with a less didactic, more flexible, framework geared for a queer analysis of the discursive relationship between racialization and sexuality. Her second project, tentatively titled Localizing Transnationalism, pursues unlikely connections between critical transnational studies and U.S. ethnic studies. Her teaching interests include Chicana and Latina literary and cultural studies, feminist theory, transnational feminisms, critical race studies, US Third World Feminism, and queer theory.

Program(s): 

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences