Spring Literary Reading


Sunday, January 28, 2018 - 2:00pm

Event Location: 

2680 E Manzanita Avenue, Tucson, AZ

RSVP by Jan. 24th to Laurel Ragaller at laurelr@email.arizona.edu or 626-6977 

The UA English Department is proud to present faculty members, Manuel Munoz and Johanna Skibsrud, who will read from their work during a special literary event. Join us for a delightful afternoon of light food, beer, wine and stimulating conversation at the home of Dr. Robert and Mrs. Anne Segal.

Manuel Muñoz will be reading from "The Reason Is Because," a short story about a teenage mother, Nela, who has dropped out of school to raise her baby and struggles to deal with the baby's combative father, Lando. The story is from a collection currently in progress, tentatively titled "It's All True."  "The Reason Is Because" originally appeared in the literary journal "American Short Fiction" and it won Munoz a third O. Henry Award in 2017.

Johanna Skibsrud will read from “Quartet for the End of Time”, a mesmerizing story of four lives irrevocably linked in a single act of betrayal. The novel takes us on an unforgettable journey beginning during the 1930s Bonus Army riots, when World War I veteran Arthur Sinclair is falsely accused of conspiracy and then disappears.

Date: Sunday, January 28, 2018
Time: 2 p.m.
Location: Dr. Robert and Mrs. Anne Segal's home 2680 E Manzanita Ave
(from Skyline, turn north on Campbell, and west on Manzanita)

Author Bios 

Johanna Skibsrud is an Assistant Professor with a special interest in modern poetry and philosophy and critical theory. She completed her PhD from the University of Montreal in 2012 with a dissertation on the poetry of Wallace Stevens, and was awarded a Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council postdoctoral fellowship from 2012-2014 in order to complete a book project titled, The Poetic Imperative: A Speculative Aesthetics. Her scholarly articles and reviews have appeared in Excursions, Dandelion, Mosaic, The Brock Review, antiTHESIS, The Luminary, The Volta, and Reviews in Cultural Theory. She is also the author of two novels, Quartet for the End of Time (Norton 2014) and the Scotiabank Giller Prize winning, The Sentimentalists (Norton 2011), a collection of short fiction, This Will Be Difficult to Explain, and Other Stories (Norton 2012), and three collections of poetry, I Do Not Think that I Could Love a Human Being (Gaspereau 2010), Late Nights For Wild Cowboys (Gaspereau 2008) and The Description of the World (Wolsak and Wynn 2016), which was awarded the Canadian Authors Association Prize and the Fred Cogswell Award.







Manuel Muñoz Manuel Muñoz is an Associate Professor of English at the UA. He received his BA in English and American Literature and Language from Harvard College in 1994 and an MFA in Creative Writing from Cornell University in 1998, where he was mentored by the Chicana writer Helena María Viramontes.  He is a first-generation college graduate and is often invited to speak with Latino/a students at two- and four-year institutions across the country.

Muñoz writes about California’s Central Valley, where he was born and raised.  His work often examines how gay men and their families negotiate their lives in a rural space as well as the complicated relationships many residents have with the Valley’s limited economic opportunities and racial politics.

He is the author of two short-story collections, Zigzagger (Northwestern University Press, 2003) and The Faith Healer of Olive Avenue (Algonquin Books, 2007), which was shortlisted for the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award.  His first novel, What You See in the Dark, was published by Algonquin in 2011.  His stories have appeared in several journals, including Glimmer TrainEpochBoston Review, and Massachusetts Review, and his work has been included in both The Norton Anthology of Latino Literature and The Heath Anthology of American Literature.  His New York Times op-ed “Leave Your Name at the Border,” about the anglicizing of Mexican names, has been frequently anthologized.

Muñoz has received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts (2004) and the New York Foundation for the Arts (2008), as well as two O. Henry Awards (2009 and 2015).  In 2008, he received a Whiting Writer’s Award.  He served as a juror for the 2011 O. Henry Awards and for the 2014 PEN/Faulkner Award in Fiction.














College of Social and Behavioral Sciences